close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Battling Boredom and Building Resilience in Children

ways to build resilience and manage pandemic-level boredom

2021-01-14 19:00:00 2021-01-14 20:30:00 America/New_York Battling Boredom and Building Resilience in Children Dr. Huston, of Nationwide Children's Hospital, will explore strategies for families with children of all ages and stages for coping with disaster, alleviating boredom, and increasing resiliency. Bexley Public Library

Thursday, January 14
7:00pm - 8:30pm

Add to Calendar 2021-01-14 19:00:00 2021-01-14 20:30:00 America/New_York Battling Boredom and Building Resilience in Children Dr. Huston, of Nationwide Children's Hospital, will explore strategies for families with children of all ages and stages for coping with disaster, alleviating boredom, and increasing resiliency. Bexley Public Library

Bexley Public Library

Bexley Library Auditorium

Dr. Huston, of Nationwide Children's Hospital, will explore strategies for families with children of all ages and stages for coping with disaster, alleviating boredom, and increasing resiliency.

Join Dr. Parker Huston, PhD, a licensed clinical psychologist and Clinical Director of the On Our Sleeves Program at Nationwide Children’s Hospital, as he discusses how children and families are impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, including ways to talk about mental health with children. Dr. Parker will explore strategies for families with children of all ages and stages for coping with unexpected changes, alleviating boredom, and increasing resiliency.

This program will be online via Zoom. Please join at this link:

Topic: Resiliency and Boredom for children and families 
Time: Jan 14, 2021 07:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85460770826

Meeting ID: 854 6077 0826

Parker Huston, PhD is a licensed clinical psychologist and Clinical Director of the On Our Sleeves Program at Nationwide Children’s Hospital. He is also the Population Health Clinical Lead for Behavioral Health. He works part-time in the Comprehensive Pediatric Feeding Clinic as well. He graduated with a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Miami University of Ohio, then earned master’s and doctoral degrees from Michigan State University. He continued his training at Allegheny General Hospital and The Children’s Institute Rehabilitation Hospital in Pittsburgh, PA followed by a fellowship in Pediatric Psychology at Akron Children’s Hospital. He has a current faculty appointment as a Clinical Assistant Professor of Pediatrics in The Ohio State University College of Medicine.  

In his role with the On Our Sleeves movement, Dr. Huston works on population mental health initiatives. He develops, manages and shares mental health content and advocates for children's mental health on a local, regional, and national level. He also provides education and programming to families, schools and companies on how to discuss mental health and improve mental wellness and access to services in their community. He enjoys speaking with children, families, community and business leaders, and others who are passionate about improving children’s mental health and bringing increased awareness and access to resources into the community. 

Dr. Huston's passion is rooted in providing education and opening doors so that children and their families can achieve their maximum potential and feel like they have agency in their lives. He believes that improving children’s mental health is important to set them up for success as adolescents and adults. Focusing on good mental health practices during childhood can create healthy habits throughout the life span.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Life Skills, Finance, and Health |

TAGS: | |

Bexley Public Library

Phone: 614-231-2793

Hours
Mon, Mar 01 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Tue, Mar 02 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Wed, Mar 03 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Thu, Mar 04 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Mar 05 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Mar 06 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Mar 07 Closed

About the branch

Bexley Public Library was founded in 1924 and first housed in Bexley High School, now Montrose Elementary School. The present building opened in 1929 and was designed by architects O.C. Miller and R.R. Reeves who drew upon French and Italian architecture from the 17th century for the design.

The library is located at 2411 East Main Street, at the intersection of East Main Street and Cassady Avenue. Parking is available in our parking lot on Euclaire Avenue and in front of the library on Main Street. Main Street is a No Parking Tow Zone from 4:00-6:00 p.m. weekdays.

Upcoming events

Mon, Mar 01, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Mar 01, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Wed, Mar 03, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Wed, Mar 03, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Thu, Mar 04, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Mar 04, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Mar 04, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Mon, Mar 08, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Virtual Event

Mon, Mar 08, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Mar 08, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Tue, Mar 09, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Wed, Mar 10, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Wed, Mar 10, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Thu, Mar 11, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Mar 11, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Mar 15, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Mar 15, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Tue, Mar 16, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Virtual Event

Wed, Mar 17, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Mar 18, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Mar 18, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Mar 18, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Mon, Mar 22, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Mar 22, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Tue, Mar 23, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Tue, Mar 23, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Wed, Mar 24, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Mar 25, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Mar 25, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Mar 29, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Mar 29, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Wed, Mar 31, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 01, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 01, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 01, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Mon, Apr 05, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Apr 05, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Mon, Apr 05, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Wed, Apr 07, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Wed, Apr 07, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Thu, Apr 08, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 08, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Mon, Apr 12, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Apr 12, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Tue, Apr 13, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Wed, Apr 14, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 15, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 15, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Apr 19, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Apr 19, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Tue, Apr 20, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Tue, Apr 20, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Wed, Apr 21, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 22, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 22, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 22, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Fri, Apr 23, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
BPL Parking Lot

Mon, Apr 26, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, Apr 26, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Tue, Apr 27, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Wed, Apr 28, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 29, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, Apr 29, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, May 03, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, May 03, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Tue, May 04, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Wed, May 05, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Wed, May 05, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Thu, May 06, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 06, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 06, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Mon, May 10, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, May 10, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Tue, May 11, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Wed, May 12, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 13, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 13, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 13, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Mon, May 17, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, May 17, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Tue, May 18, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Wed, May 19, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 20, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 20, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 20, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Bexley Public Library - BPL Virtual Programs

Mon, May 24, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Bexley Public Library

Mon, May 24, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Wed, May 26, 10:00am - 10:30am
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 27, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Bexley Public Library

Thu, May 27, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Bexley Public Library